Tales of a lost youth

Surviving the post high school years

I still remember that feeling when I finished my last HSC exam, my friend nick and I drove dangerously fast to the bottle-O around the corner spent what little money we had on 3 cases of the finest Victorian bitter.
We regrouped with our fellow classmates at the beach car park and filled an old metal drum with all our hard written work and research of the past 2 years, See you later Otto von Bismarck, adios Pythagoras you and your theorem can get stuffed. Setting this pile of study notes and textbook photocopies ablaze I was overcome with a euphoric sensation I’d never experienced. The anticipation of venturing into the big bad world was equally terrifying and exciting I couldn’t wait.

That was over 2 and half years ago. Since the beginning of this adventure they call life I can say I’ve seen my fair share of how good it can be and just as much of how bad it can be. Since finishing school I’ve been around the world, fallen in and out of love, laughed so much I pissed myself, been so scared I’ve cried, partied with people who didn’t share my language race or religion. I’ve also been kicked out, lost friends to suicide, to drugs, to motorcycles and various other temptations and addictions.
Everything you learn at school is meant to help you survive in the world, you’re teachers tell you you’ve got to study hard otherwise you’ll be handing out hostel brochures in Byron Bay. On the contrary there is nothing you learn during high school that can really prepare you for what lies ahead. Nothing you learn in extension English is going help you get past corrupt cops in Bali.
It is encouraged that you under go tertiary education In order to make something of yourself, but I have a friend who has been studying chiropractics for 3 years and has aged almost 50 years, the pressure of studying, passing and keeping a distinction average isn’t healthy for a 20 year old. On the other hand I have a friend who went to one of the most expensive boarding schools in Sydney and is now a marine electrician. I see him almost everyday after work, stinking of diesel and itching the fiberglass out of his shirt and he’s never unhappy.
I am also studying at university and am really enjoying what I’m doing, getting good marks. My marks could be better if I didn’t put so much focus on the weekend. I’m quite happy with where I’m at, but like a lot of my peers and friends its what happens after you get handed your piece of paper and graduate that’s scary. Although it’s very advantageous to have a degree it doesn’t assure you a job. There are a lot of post grad’s who labor digging holes or pour martinis in restaurants waiting for the next job interview.
To properly evolve as human you must go out and learn things that can’t be taught in a classroom or through an online lecture.
Experience is the ultimate teacher.

One thought on “Tales of a lost youth

Leave a comment